One Patient's Positive Perspectives

sleepy sloth.htm

Return of the sloth

Waking up in the quiet of a Sunday morning with a deep relaxed sigh, stretching fingers brush the euro pillows that serve as a headboard. Suddenly realizing that there was no husband in the house, a foggy lupus mind rushes back a faint realization he was here, and dressed for church.  He had stood there at the foot of the bed, wearing a bold blue and yellow Jerry Garcia tie saying, “honey, I’m leaving.”  As he headed out to play piano for the early morning choir practice, Sunday morning sloth mode had overcome the sleeper, who didn’t wake up again until this very moment.  What time is it, anyway?

Oops!  A soprano spot in the choir was now standing empty, and a husband sat through the church service temporarily stood up by a “sloth” who still slept at home in bed.  With another resigned sigh was realization that the morning had been spent sleeping through church, succumbing to the overwhelming fatigue tugging on my body.  Grateful for the stolen extra sleep, the fatigue was lighter than earlier when I almost woke up, but there still was a measure of frustration over failure to be responsible and “in my place” on a Sunday morning.

Sleep/Rest Goals

The Question – sleep or laziness?

To an outsider looking in, it is no wonder the conclusion about this type of slothful behavior is a blatant proclamation of “laziness”, but the enlightened few who really understand autoimmune disease know it is something different.  Sloth mode overtakes most autoimmune patients with regularity, but after a Benlysta infusion, the effect for me is much greater than normal.  There are always a few days of overwhelming, consuming fatigue, sleepiness, and utter exhaustion that set in during weekends that follow monthly Benlysta infusions for my lupus.

Thankful that there are no other noticeable side effects from the Benlysta I receive every fourth Friday, I can live with the weariness that overtakes me afterward.  Many years before Benlysta was available for lupus, the only treatment that controlled by lupus was a combination of the cancer chemotherapy drug Methotrexate, a transplant drug Azathioprine, Plaquenil, prednisone, and a prescription NSAID.  Methotrexate caused nausea and extreme malaise for at least twelve to twenty four hours after each weekly dose, so a “little” slothful tiredness is a tolerable outcome, if not blessing, in comparison.

Return of humanness

Showering and letting the slothful sleep slide down the drain, the rest of the day was recovered and went on like normal.  Sunday dinner, out and about to play piano at a retirement center worship service, and then on to afternoon choir practice.  This evening, I joined my husband at church and filled this morning’s vacant spot with the other singers.  The sloth was left behind, at least until tomorrow, and the butterfly returned.  Although sometimes it reappears transforming me for another day into a Monday morning sloth, on Tuesday, it is certain full humanness (and butterfly-ness) should return and remain for the next four weeks.

 

Comments on: "Lupus and the recurring visit of the sloth" (3)

  1. Brenda Lawrence said:

    I know of the sloth you talk about. Some mornings I just can’t seem to get myself awake and functioning. If I do get awake, I’m like a zombie and just sit in my chair with no energy and feeling groggy. Nice to know that I’m not just being lazy like I feel.

  2. Great to see your blog LA. I know people on Benlysta appreciate hearing what you have to say, as well as the rest of us. It is too easy to feel like we are nuts, lazy, have less worth etc etc. because of the different symptoms we experience. Thanks. I hope all is well. Are you still in school?

  3. Becky Knesek said:

    I was diagnosed with lupus a little over 3 years ago. While my rheumy says my case is pretty mild right now, it sure doesn’t seem so sometimes. Because I work a full time job, my weekends are usually for rest and recovering to prepare for the next work week. Thank you for making me feel okay about missing church sometimes. Explaining to people why I wasn’t there often solicits confused looks & what I perceive as judgment. Even though I know God knows my body better than even I and also knows the depths of my heart, I still find myself I prayer for “letting Him down.”

Your Comments Are Welcome!

