One Patient's Positive Perspectives

SavedPicture-2014117151122.jpg

New Oil-Based Hair Color without Ammonia — No Sting, No Smell, No Rash!

320px-Butterfly_sikkim

Image courtesy of Wikimedia license Incomposition Sikkim

We should know not to try to draft a post from a cell phone!  I was sitting at my doctor’s office getting my Benlysta infusion this afternoon with just my cell phone along for amusement.  So, I started trying to write a post I have been trying to get to for a couple of weeks.  I uploaded this picture from my windows phone, taken at a recent hair dresser appointment.  While logged in earlier this evening to finish the post, I discovered that the picture had been posted all by itself, without the story behind it.

Well, perhaps I should finish the post, now, especially since some of you readers have already “liked” it.  That is great faith, liking a post before it is written!

At my last hair appointment, my hair dresser was excited to tell me about a new Matrix hair color that the salon had started using. She has been using a Matrix formula to do highlights and lowlights that covers just the gray roots, about every 8 weeks.  The formula was pretty mild, but still contained ammonia and caused my scalp to burn while it was on my hair, and then afterwards I would sometimes get lupus rashes on my hairline where the scalp was irritated.   It was not uncommon to need prescription prednisone ointment for a few days to keep rashes in check.

So, the new oil-based Matrix formula Rosa wanted to try has no ammonia, and doesn’t smell or sting, and there was no need to sit under the hair dryer.  She explained that the oil in the formula carried the pigment deep down into the hair shaft and bonded to the inside of the hair, making it smooth and healthy instead of damaging the hair.

Rosa and I have occasionally discussed the problems many lupus patients have with perfumes, dyes and hyper allergic response to many chemicals in the environment.

You see me smiling in the picture, because even though with goopy hair dye all over my head, I somewhat resemble a drowned rat, my scalp was not burning nor were my nose and eyes wincing from fumes.  No smell, no burn and afterward… no rash after my hair appointment.

WP_20141018_13_35_57_Pro (1)

Meet Rosa!

I updated this post when it was finally finished so you could also meet my hair dresser, Rosa. She has been taking care of my hair at JC Penny’s salon for over a year, and “rescued” my dry damaged hair from previous over-processing.  My sister-in-law introduced me to her, and I have been very happy ever since.

So, this time, she recommended the perfect new permanent hair color for a lupus patient.   You might just want to ask your hair dresser about the new Matrix oil based formula color, “Colorinsider.”  Check out their web site link in the caption of the picture I “borrowed” from them.

I don’t often support a product (and am not being compensated for this in any way) unless I really believe it is something worth sharing with other lupus patients.

Comments on: "Lupus and a better no gray way" (3)

  1. I have enjoyed so many of your posts. They’re always educational to me and I LOOOVE that you shared something with beauty! I’m hoping to get a blog going soon myself and you’re someone that inspires me to find my own story to share! Thank you! I love Matrix Products in general so that was awesome too!

    • CC, So sorry for taking so long to acknowledge your comment! I am just now recovering from the holidays, followed by the government budget submission for my department that I finally got done with today. Sighing in relief and ready to go see Rosa again, maybe just for the shampoo and scalp massage, since its too early for my cut and color! Thanks for visiting, and for joining the conversation! LA

  2. This is great information for lupus patients! We just wrote a blog called Lupus Hair Loss and Alopecia Explained. We don’t often endorse products either, but options for more gentle hair coloring options would be fantastic! If you would be interested in commenting on the blog with your experience- even link to this blog post, I will approve the comment! Here is the link to that blog: http://www.mollysfund.org/lupus-hair-loss-alopecia-explained/ Thank you so much!

Your Comments Are Welcome!

