One Patient's Positive Perspectives

WP_20140904_10_07_22_Pro

Portland-bound at 20,000 feet

Writing on a phone

A couple of hours ago I started writing on my windows phone from here in Portland, where I have been visiting for three days on business. Not yet comfortable with using the blog app in miniature, I couldn’t figure out how to save the nearly blank post as a draft. After getting to the airport and sitting down to finish the post, I realized it had posted as just a title and was my shortest post here yet.

I was surprised to even get some likes with just a title! That takes a lot of faith to give me thumbs up without it being written yet, sort of like getting an advance on an unwritten book. With that response it is worthy of finishing.

Writing in the Airport

Writing at the airport, on the runway and at the baggage claim

So, here I am finally writing it for real while I wait at the gate for boarding. When I flew out to Portland earlier this week, the plan included arriving plenty early ahead of the 3:00 pm start to the professional educational conference. My husband dropped me off early, and the morning was spent in transit.

Part of my advance travel planning always includes scoping out ground transportation options and street maps of the area I am visiting. With lupus arthritis it is important to consider things like how long the walk will be if I want to use public trains or busses to get to my hotel. Also, I try to plan not to arrive after dark in a strange city, and feel less vulnerable finding my hotel in day light.

Writing on the runway

Now on my plane headed home, we are waiting to take off on an oversold flight, and I was grateful to be the next-to-last person to get on the plane.

When I get home, I will finish and update this post, since I haven’t yet figured out how to save in draft.

Writing from baggage claim

Now with feet on the ground and waiting for my husband at the airport, I reflect on the challenges of travel with my auto-immune companion. Watching out for fatigue, skipping the night life … More later…

Writing from a phone, again!

Later, actually much later still using my windows smart phone, since my husband was rearranging the office and took the internet down while I was out of town.

This may end up my first unillustrated post in more than three years of writing… Writing on a mini app is one thing, but dealing with images that way is just too much for me.

Writing from home, sweet home

WP_20140904_10_15_18_Pro

View from the air over Portland

After trying to compose this on the fly (pun intended) it has become obvious that my home office is my most truly inspirational place to write.  No distractions, interruptions or half-constructed sentences.  So, with the Internet back up and my computer re-connected to cyberspace, now I’ll try to finish and go back and fill in a couple of details.

To attend a business law conference in Oregon, I flew out Thursday morning last week, and arrived in Portland by late morning.  I happened to meet the only other Arizona attendee at the airport, Andrea, and we boarded the train at the airport station.  Our lodging was diagonally across an intersection from each other, so we connected for several educational sessions and shared a couple of good meals during the conference.  After finding out we both have chronic health challenges, we coordinated a similar approach to our conference attendance.

WP_20140905_15_17_10_Pro

Court house and clock tower near my Portland hotel

Arriving with enough time to comfortably check into the hotel and grab a light lunch, we stopped by the conference registration table and arrived at the first session at 3:00 that afternoon.  While some attendees may enjoy night life and partying when they attend professional conferences, that’s just not a lifestyle that fits into my brand of lupus adventures.  When I travel alone, I pretty much stay in at night, and spend my days in meetings and evenings quietly in my room resting up for the next day’s demands.

The last night of the conference, my new friend Andrea and I enjoyed excellent lasagna dinner and home made gelato, all prepared from scratch by the chef in my hotel’s Italian restaurant.  The next morning’s classes began early, and we were done by noon.  The night before, I arranged for late check out, so I would not have to drag my suitcase around to my morning classes.  I had an hour to leisurely change into travel clothes and pack up before check out.

WP_20140906_13_32_48_Pro

Train crossing over the river on the way back to the airport

Trying to check in and get a boarding pass from the hotel lobby online ahead of my flight, I learned my flight was oversold, and would have to check in and get my boarding pass at the airport.  Setting out immediately to catch a train back to the airport, I started writing this on the small screen of my phone.  Clicking thumbs of text, started two days ago waiting at the at the train stop, with my feet propped up on my suitcase.  The return trip included a great view for snapping a quick shot from the bridge.

Throughout this business trip, my lupus and writing about this adventure joined my new friend Andrea as a trio of friendly travel companions.

Comments on: "Lupus as a business travel companion" (5)

  1. I guess I have never truly considered how difficult it must be to travel with certain illness such as lupus. I struggle with food because I have allergies upon allergies in that department, but at least that is all I have to worry about. What an insightful post into your life. Thanks for sharing

  2. It’s hard to travel with lupus, isn’t it? I’m thinking that maybe your writing distracts you from all the fuss and bother of boarding passes, TSA frisking, etc. Great idea!

    • MCM, You are right! It was a great distraction, but I could hardly believe that leaving Portland they flagged me as “pre-screened” and I didn’t have to take off my shoes, take out my baggie of makeup, or even walk through a metal detector. It was weird to just walk through! LA

  3. I liked the title. But that doesn’t mean I wasn’t scratching my head and wondering what that was about. I posted a few days from my tablet it is challenging and not something I want to make a habit of. Have a safe trip, learn but also have fun.

Your Comments Are Welcome!

