One Patient's Positive Perspectives

Kids at ABQ Pumpkin Patch 2013 Oct 602446_10151932148548699_1434513602_n

My grandchildren at the
beginning of their lives

I wasn’t going to post this morning, but after I happened upon a thought-provoking post from new blogger Loribhim (Everything Has a Reason), I was grateful it caused me stop briefly and mull over a few things.

I would like to share my response to the great question and story, Give Me One Good Reason, about Loribhim’s father who died from lupus nephritis:

Reading your post triggered me thinking that perhaps part of the answer to your initial question, “what is life?” can be found in what life isn’t. This is the most profound of all questions, and yet is at the same time complex and deep, yet pretty simple viewed through humble eyes of faith in God.

The Bible says a man’s life does not consist of the things which he possesses, so perhaps it is much about people and little about stuff.

Life is not an accident, it is a creation.  Life is not a punishment, it is a gift.

Life is not having and doing things my way, Jesus said, “I am the way, the truth and the life.”

Life is not temporary, it is endless.  Life is not pointless, it has one of two destinations, heaven or hell, period.

Benihana Anniversary Edited 20131015180732_5

My husband and me in
middle of our lives

Life is not meant to be lived without meaning and joy, for Jesus said, “the thief comes only to steal, and kill and destroy, but I came that you might have life, and have it abundantly.”

Life was not meant to be lived as a self-contained and self-centered existence, life was meant to be shared in love, forgiveness, fellowship and worship of God, our Creator.

Life is not ours, it is borrowed from God.

What is life?

What is life?

Life did not arise out of muddy primordial soup, God created and scooped up the clay from the earth He had made, formed man and blew into his nostrils the breath of life, His life.

Life is not a disaster, it is a miracle.  Life is not misery, it is transforming joy in the face of illness, trial, tragedy or loss.

The source of our life has no beginning and no end, hence Jesus said “before Abraham was, I Am.”  The Bible begins man’s story of life simply with five words: “In the beginning God created…”

Thanks so much for your post.  It stopped me for a few moments and got me thinking about what life is, and what it isn’t.

My father approaching the end of his life

My father approaching
the end of his earthly life

Perhaps this novice blogger’s age-old question will trigger a few thoughts of your own.

How would you answer the probing question as you face this earthly adventure we share?  What is life?

LA POP 5

What is your answer?

Your Comments Are Welcome!

