One Patient's Positive Perspectives

Room with a view of the balloons

Room with a view of the balloons

Once or twice each year I attend professional conferences about legal management, and experience the joys of travel with my lupus. Usually, the most challenging aspect of the adventure is waking up early enough to make my first class each day on time.  Whenever possible, I stay in the conference hotels to avoid walking too far, and to allow me time to rest and kick up my heels during midday breaks.

One week ago, my husband helped pack up our car and we headed off to Albuquerque for a regional professional conference.

A special blessing made the trip more exciting, since my son, his wife and four children live across town from the conference hotel. While I attended classes, my husband was able to spend time with our grandchildren.

By John Fowler from Placitas, NM, USA (ABQ Balloon FiestaUploaded by russavia) [<a href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0">CC-BY-2.0</a>], <a href="https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File%3AABQ_Balloon_Fiesta_(4000537585).jpg">via Wikimedia Commons</a>

By John Fowler from Placitas, NM, USA

When we awoke, we had a beautiful mountain view from our 16th floor hotel room.  In the distance, we could see dozens of hot air balloons each morning, as balloonists get ready for the start of this week’s annual balloon fiesta.

After my conference ended, we were guests for a couple more night’s at our son’s home.

Balloon breakfast, anyone?

Balloon breakfast, anyone?

One crisp morning, the children donned their jackets to enjoy their oatmeal on the porch for “balloon breakfast.”

My daughter-in-law applies her creative spark to the daily home-school activities, so it was no surprise when their themed breakfast was crowned by a hovering hot air balloon lowering directly over their backyard!  The children jumped with glee and waved to the balloonists overhead, who graciously waved back their friendly “hello” to the children below.

Balloon breakfast was a “cool” success.

We attended church on Sunday where our son is an associate pastor.  We enjoyed the extra blessing of hearing him, with his wife and their two eldest, sing a song together on Sunday night. My pianist husband showed his versatility by filling in for the vacationing organist during the congregational singing.

By Richard Bartz, Munich aka Makro Freak (Own work) [CC-BY-SA-2.5 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.5)], via Wikimedia Commons

By Richard Bartz, Munich

I treasured this opportunity to see our son and his family serving God with joy in their daily lives.

Our brief visit included some fun times with our grandchildren.  We visited an indoor amusement park, did some shoe shopping for the kids and caught some time at a pumpkin patch watching the kids have a wonderful time.

We cherish the time and blessings of our fall trip to the land of balloon fiestas and grandparents’ adventures.

Our trip home went without a hitch, getting me home in time for this week’s Benlysta infusion, slightly postponed from the normal monthly schedule that originally was set for last Friday.  Then, on to work and resuming my normal routines.

Comments on: "Lupus adventures and blessings beneath a fiesta of balloons" (5)

  1. Sometimes an eventful trip is a bad thing for a lupie, but this one sound excellent. I know I miss the ease of pre-lupus travel. 🙂

    • BL, thanks for your visit! I, too, miss the ease of pre-lupus travel, and the ability to spend hours in the sun at places like the beach, hiking, boating, swimming, etc. Alas, I at least have the memories to be thankful for! LA

  2. Wow, it sounds like you have a wonderful son, daughter-in-law, and grandchildren! 😉 It’s good to hear that sometimes God works out those work situations so you can have the blessings of off-time with family.

    • MM: You are definitely right about that one — my favorite son and daughter-in-law, and my absolutely favorite grandchildren. I am not biased, no, not at all! LA 🙂

  3. Sounds wonderful. I am happy for you. I am very glad it was uneventful this time in the health department. : )

Your Comments Are Welcome!

