One Patient's Positive Perspectives

Lupus Awareness Blog No. 6 – Nurse Annie’s Lupus Chronicles

Today, I would like to introduce you to lupus patient, blogger and freelance writer Annie.  In her 20-year nursing career, she gained knowledge and tools that equip her to “advocate fiercely for patients as they are often caught in the maze of diagnostic tests, etc.”

Her blog has a great feature.  On its “Contact Me” page, Annie invites readers to send her a question about lupus, and she will respond with information based on her experiences as a patient and a health practitioner.

teamrn profile image

Nurse Annie

She explains to her readers, “Feel free to ask me something that you might not want to display publicly; remembering that any information we exchange will be held in the strictest confidence and will be sent DIRECTLY to my inbox.”

A nurse's perspectives on lupus

A nurse’s perspectives on lupus

However, I respect how Annie clearly and carefully draws the ethical line to avoid the unlicensed practice of medicine and to refrain from attempting to give specific patient’s medical advice.  Instead, she encourages her readers see their own doctor about their medical needs.  Nurse Annie urges, “Your physician knows YOU.  I know a thing or two about chronic illness and ways to cope with it and tips for interpreting…”

Nurse Annie has the knowledge to translate medical jargon, what she dubs “doctor-speak,” into simple, plain English.

Annie has a good emerging blog presence and a steadily growing reader base.  You just might enjoy reading her interesting and informative lupus blog and her winning outlook on life and lupus.  You might even ask her a medical question or two.  I can attest that she answers her emails!

P.S. – Today is National Nurse’s Day and begins National Nurse’s Week

Looking at my office calendar hung on the left side of my desk, I suddenly realized that today is National Nurse’s Day! I couldn’t help but notice the striking coincidence of today’s nurse spotlight on Nurse Annie!  I wish I could say I planned this strategically, but I did not! So, instead, I am inserting this update to today’s post, to pause briefly and recognize the nurses around us.  Nurses play a critical role in the medical care we receive, and are often the first interface between us and the doctors who direct our care.  Hats off to the nurses who care for us!

A little background from the American Nurses Association about nurses… “Often described as an art and a science, nursing is a profession that embraces dedicated people with varied interests, strengths and passions because of the many opportunities the profession offers. As nurses, we work in emergency rooms, school based clinics, and homeless shelters, to name a few. We have many roles – from staff nurse to educator to nurse practitioner and nurse researcher – and serve all of them with passion for the profession and with a strong commitment to patient safety.”

ANA Banner“May 12, the final day of National Nurses Week, is the birthday of Florence Nightingale (1820-1910). The English nurse became known as the founder of professional nursing, especially due to her pioneering work during the Crimean War (1853-1856). Due to her habit of making rounds at night, Nightingale became known as ‘The Lady with the Lamp’.”

National Nurses Week was first observed in October 1954, the 100th anniversary of Nightingale’s mission to Crimea. May 6 was introduced as the date for the observance in 1982.”  Background information provided by http://nursingworld.org/.

Lupus Truth No. 6 – Diagnosis of Lupus Can Take Time

xx

Diagnosis takes time

Diagnosis and Treatment: Many symptoms of lupus mimic those of other illnesses, and symptoms can come and go over time, which makes diagnosis more difficult. Because lupus can attack nearly any system of the body at any given time, lupus can seem to be a number of unconnected health problems within the same patient.

To learn more about this lupus fact, please see last year’s post on diagnosis and treatment timelines from  May 6, 2012.

Plan to POP — Put on Purple — for Lupus May 17th

Remember to change to your purple purse to get ready to “POP” — Put on Purple — for Lupus on Friday, May 17th!

Comments on: "Lupus Fact & Blog of the Day – No. 6 – Lupus Chronicles and Lengthy Diagnosis Times" (3)

  1. Jim, a fellow blogger

  2. Again, I just wanted to say thank you Lupus Adventurer for the information you continue to share! I am sure that this is a busy month for you, but I am hoping you’ll get a chance to read my comment. First off, I would love to know if there are any joint awareness events for Lupus Awareness Month and National Nurse’s Week? Second, I was wondering if you chose to include the ending paragraph about the length of time for diagnosis for a specific reason? I only ask, because I think I read that it can take up to 6 years for a case of lupus to be accurately diagnosed.

    • Thanks for your comments and question.

      NO, I am unaware of any joint Lupus Awareness and National Nurses Day/Week events. It sounds like a great idea, but there are none that I know of.

      Why did I post the last section about how diagnosis of lupus takes? Simply because it was lupus fact #6 on a list of 31 facts that I received from the LFA home office staff last year, used as inspiration for my daily blog posts in May 2012. Since those were full blog articles about each subject, I thought that I would simply list the “lupus fact” in each day’s post, and link to last year’s full write ups on the topics. The LFA tells us that surveys show it takes 4-6 years as just as many doctors for most lupus patients to get an accurate diagnosis. For me, it was much, much longer.

      My real excitement this year was to get that information out there again, without recreating the wheel, and to also shine the spotlight on various lupus bloggers who are making a difference out there in lupus awareness.

      Thanks again for your interaction!

      LA

Your Comments Are Welcome!

