One Patient's Positive Perspectives

Brevity is a challenge!

As one of the last couple of posts in the thirty-day health writer’s challenge, it has been suggested I should try to tell my lupus story, with extreme brevity, short and sweet, as a six-sentence story.  In this day of micro-blogging, brevity is said to be a skill worth honing, so this challenge may be worth giving it a try.  I have seldom been as brief as six sentences in anything I write.  My staff even sometimes says of me, “ask her what time it is, and she will teach you how to build a clock.”

Please forgive me if, to stay within these constraints, I yield to the temptation of breaking into light-hearted rhyme!

Lupus and Me, the Short and Sweet

Lupus short and sweet

In only six sentences the challenge shall be
to tell you a story about lupus and me.
Well, all of my life they suspected and tested,
after a long string of docs, SLE was detected.
There’s been lots of medicine, chemo and stuff,
to quiet the lupus has always been rough.
I need exercise to strengthen, nutrition’s a must,
and lots of support from dear souls I can trust.
Always seeking to be a victor, and not a victim,
I look to the Lord and His strengthening within.
For this autoimmune illness, they still have no cure,
so, I advocate as part of my lupus adventure.

By Lupus Adventurer
Copyright May, 2012

If you like the short take on a story and want to read more of them (or if it’s the short version, wouldn’t that be reading less?) check out other people’s six sentence stories at the blog http://sixsentences.blogspot.com, and the 6S web site.

Your Comments Are Welcome!

