One Patient's Positive Perspectives

Lupus Adventurer's Dinner Guests

Today’s health writer challenge was an interesting question.  It is not clear what this topic has to do with lupus and health, but perhaps we can figure out the connection as we ponder the answer.  Who are five people I would love to have dinner with, living or deceased, and why?  It only took a couple of minutes to come up with my list of dinner guests.

First is my husband.  I can’t imagine giving any type of dinner party without him.  He also helps me get ready for parties and family gatherings, and does the things that would exhaust me because of my lupus.  He typically spruces up the yards, cleans off the patio and sweeps and mops my 1,800 square feet of wood and white tile floors!  (Yes, he is amazing and he is all mine! ) I would want him at this dinner, so he could visit with the other four.

Dinner for six

The next guest would be my mom!  She has been gone for over a dozen years now, dying suddenly  from a brain aneurism, triggered by high blood pressure and a congenital vascular weakness.  Mom was an amazing woman, an incredible mother, caring wife to my dad and was an elementary school librarian.  She taught me what unconditional love was by her daily example, and loved with ferocious loyalty and determination.

Mom had a spunky opinionated character and zest for life and adventure!  She loved animals and they all loved and trusted her.  Over the years she rescued, raised and released many baby birds, and had many kitty friends.  She savored the experience of listening to classical music, taught me how to stroll through an art museum, and was a winsome sometimes orderly clutter-bug.  When it came to the kitchen, she enjoyed bagels, a half-teaspoon of sugar in her tea, made (famous) omelets, delicious lemon meringue pie and a killer lasagna from scratch.  Each fall when the orchard fruit stands were full, she made batch after batch of delicious white peach, strawberry and apricot jam, and even taught me the lost art of making quince jelly.  (Do most people  even know what quince are or where to find them growing?)  She and I loved to walk in the San Francisco rain together.  I miss her so much!

Mom, Dorothy, Grandma and Grandpa

Then comes my aunt Dorothy.  She died when I was still in college, but earlier during my high school years, she and I got acquainted.  We discovered that we shared many of the same things, and we became prayer partners and she gained a very special place in my young adult life.  She was intelligent, professional and very self-confident and vibrant, and I loved her! We lost her over thirty years ago to a battle with breast cancer.

The last two guests would be both of my mom’s parents.  My grandfather died from heart failure a couple of years before I was born, and my grandmother died during my sophomore year of college.  She had rheumatoid arthritis, and took quinine all her life for it, developing diabetes and blindness several years before her death at 83.  Growing up, we didn’t spend much time with any of my grandparents because of distance between us, so I still long to know more about them and their lives.  My grandmother bore eight children that lived past early childhood.  Before the Depression, her family was quite comfortable, but when the entire extended family gathered on her father’s farm, she adjusted to the drastic changes in her lifestyle with grace and dignity.  She was 40 when my mother was born, and passed on the knowledge and skills of a much earlier turn-of-the century generation.

Pot roast dinner

My husband never got to know these last three precious people, so dinner would be a delightful way to have them all get acquainted. Perhaps after a nice dinner of pot roast, fresh rolls and butter, we could gather in the living room and coax my husband to favor us with playing the piano. Who knows, we might all end up enjoying a family sing-a-long!

This might indeed be an adventure, a night and a dinner to remember!

[Wow… after writing this last night, I realized this morning how much a tired lupus-challenged brain can fail to connect the dots!  After reading it this morning, I winced as I had to edit this post for a boat load of glaring errors:  spelling, missing words, incorrect words, word order, sentence structure, grammar and punctuation errors.  I hope this morning’s lupus-challenged brain caught them all before I updated the post with the corrections! Perhaps the lupus connection of this post was to show my unconnected brain!  LA :-/]

Comments on: "Lupus Adventure’s five hypothetical dinner guests" (1)

  1. Interesting question. Having not known any of my family members I would have to pick some of the same people you did. They were all deseased before I was born. What an interesting dinner that would prove to be too.

Your Comments Are Welcome!

