One Patient's Positive Perspectives

Wii Adventure

Ever since my daughter and son-in-law moved in with us a few weeks ago, I have been meaning to check out the Wii that they brought with them.  My daughter has been talking for months about Wii Yoga, while at the same time I had begun doing traditional Yoga with our cable TV on-demand classes and a beginning Yoga DVD.

The addition of Yoga to my spinning and exercise routines has helped me take several inches off my waist and hips, while I have lost over 20 pounds in the last six months.

Today, it was time to be introduced to Wii Yoga!

First, I created a Mii character, picking a face, skin-tone, eyes, eyebrows and mouth to go with a hairdo that seemed to best represent me.  I dressed my Mii avatar in my favorite purple color, and began the training and workout routine.

I was surprised to find out that the Wii Fit platform is used to measure weight, balance and even uses height data to help calculate body mass index.  My BMI was 27, and my weight fell into the “overweight” category.  However, I have no intent of getting my weight down to the 115 pounds the program describes as “normal” for my height and build.  I will be happy to lose 5 more pounds and weigh in somewhere around 140 to 145 pounds.  Much below 135, I start feeling very fatigued and looking worn out and tired.

Wii introduction

After weighing as much as 172 for over a year, I am very pleased to be back down to 148 pounds.  So, when the Wii setup program wanted to know my weight loss goal, 5 pounds over the next two months seemed just about right.

The Wii introduction included a measuring session, virtual tight-rope walking, kung fu, snow-ball throwing and Yoga.  All the while, I was cheered on and encouraged by my kids and we had a good time.

Comments on: "Lupus and Wii Yoga Adventures" (2)

  1. lupusadventurer said:

    Thank you so much for visiting my blog and sharing your input! I hope you enjoy it if you give Wii yoga I try. I did.

  2. Sounds like a good alternative. Maybe I will check out!!

Your Comments Are Welcome!

