One Patient's Positive Perspectives

Awareness?

Today, while Google Blog searching “lupus,” the 1st page of results listed a post titled “Lupus?” on the blog “A Place for My Stuff.” 

Don’s interesting and humorous blog takes a tougue-in-cheek stab at the picture of a lupus awareness billboard on display in Indianapolis, and contrasts it with a picture of Hugh Laurie and the statement “No. It’s never Lupus.” made on the TV show “House.”

Totally unable to resist, my comment with a referral to the Lupus Foundation of America’s site was added before leaving his blog.  The temptation was just way too great not to respond to the obvious humor and irony expressed there! http://actionskeptics.blogspot.com/2011/01/lupus.html

So, what was the comment?

“Dr.” House is no different than the rest of the medical community in having a hard time recognizing Lupus in a patient. Whether in jest or not, raising Lupus awareness is really important, and it usually takes several doctors and several years. One TV show just isn’t long enough, don’t anybody blame House.  I like him.

Approximately 1 out of every 150 people have some form of lupus, and 135 of those are women.

Lupus is potentially life threatening and a leading cause of kidney failure, and is more prevalent and severe in women of color.  Early diagnosis and treatment raises quality of life and lowers mortality.

For authoritative info about Lupus, I suggest the Lupus Foundation of America’s site:

http://www.lupus.org/webmodules/webarticlesnet/templates/new_learnunderstanding.aspx?articleid=2231&zoneid=523

Thanks for your part in helping raising Lupus awareness, whether intended or not, and your excellent sense of humor expressed on the many posts in your site. Your post came up on page 1 today on Google blog search for “lupus,” so it will get a few good views.

Now, thanks to Don’s post, the lupus awareness poster on a street corner in Indiana and the website url displayed on the billboard  http://couldihavelupus.gov/ have potentially world-wide exposure.

Truthfully, it made me chuckle!

Comments on: "Awareness? No. It's never lupus." (2)

  1. I completely agree with you, I think we have realized this problem, but with all the legalities and the behavior change required, shifting gear is not going to be a simple feat. As for the ranting, I appreciate the tons of good posts from you. If I come across anything useful I will past in onto you.

  2. debro_silk08@gmail.com said:

    Great blog! I truly love how it’s easy on my eyes and the details are well written. I am wondering how I could be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which ought to do the trick! Have a nice day!

Your Comments Are Welcome!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.